North Kearsarge Mine

Copper Country Heritage Guide - Types

The North Kearsarge Mine was originally opened as the Kearsarge in 1886 and was responsible for the discovery of the copper rich Kearsarge Lode that it worked. During that time the mine was able to produce over 14 million pounds of copper. In 1897 the successful mine was bought up by the Osceola, who also bought the old Iroquois on the lode’s southern end. The old Iroquois would become the South Kearsarge, and the old Kearsarge would be further known as the North kearsarge.

The North Kearsarge consists of four shafts, labeled from the south to the north. Shaft No.2 was abandoned early, its shaft and surface plant becoming buried by tailings from the neighboring No.1 shaft. The remaining shafts were served by short spurs of the neighboring Mineral Range Railroad. Rock was milled at the Osceola’s mill on Torch Lake.

The mine would operate for several decades before closing down for the Depression. In 1942 it was re-opened by C&H to help supply much-needed copper for the war effort. After the war’s conclusion the mine would continue to operate for another decade, primarily from the No.4 shaft at the mine’s far north boundary. The mine would finally shut down for good in 1956.

Click on an image below for more information.

North Kearsarge No. 1

North Kearsarge No. 1

Kearsarge – Massive rock piles and a scattering of ruins are all that remains of the town’s namesake found just north of town.

North Kearsarge No. 3

North Kearsarge No. 3

Kearsarge – Though not nearly as productive as its younger brother, the No.3’s legacy is the unique hillside ruins of its sprawling surface plant.

North Kearsarge No.4

Copper City – The most notable remain from the Kearsarge’s most northern shaft is its impressive brick walled machine shop, now used as a private residence.