Hoist Houses

Copper Country Heritage Guide - Types

Click on an image below for more information.

Ahmeek No. 3/4

Ahmeek No. 3/4

Mohawk – This unique dual shaft almost single handily saved C&H from early closure. Though its massive rock house was demolished, most of its sprawling surface plant can still be seen alongside US41.

C&H (Osceola) No.13

Calumet – The modern surface plant which adorns this old C&H shaft was part of the company’s last ditch effort to re-open the Osceola lode and discover new caches of copper.

Centennial No.6

Kearsarge – As one of the last operating shafts to close, the Centennial No.6 features the region’s most modern and technologically advanced surface plant – a surface plant that continues to stand to this day.

Central Engine House

Central – Amazingly intact for its age, this massive stone structure was built over a century and a half ago to house one of the Central Mine’s steam powered hoists.

Champion No. 2 Hoist House

Champion No. 2 Hoist House

Painesdale – Built to serve the No.2 shaft, this stately sandstone and brick structure once housed one of the Champion Mine’s massive steam powered hoist engines.

Mesnard No.8

Hancock – Originally opened in 1862, the old Mesnard Mine would later end up in the hands of the neighboring Quincy Mine. Over a century later it would be home to a last ditch effort to re-open the region’s copper industry to no avail.

North Kearsarge No. 1

North Kearsarge No. 1

Kearsarge – Massive rock piles and a scattering of ruins are all that remains of the town’s namesake found just north of town.

North Kearsarge No. 3

North Kearsarge No. 3

Kearsarge – Though not nearly as productive as its younger brother, the No.3’s legacy is the unique hillside ruins of its sprawling surface plant.

Osceola No.6

Calumet – Located on lands once belonging to the old Opechee mine, the last of Osceola’s shafts was outfitted with a modern surface plant by C&H, most of which continues to stand today.

Quincy No.9

Hancock – Sitting on land originally owned by the failed Pontiac Mine, this remote shaft was part of a failed effort by the Quincy Mine to open new land along the Pewabic Lode.

Quincy No.2

Hancock – Built in 1908 to replace an earlier wood structure, this five story steel monstrosity represented a Copper Country at its peak, utilizing the most advanced and efficient mining methods available at the time.